France and Spain announce squad for Europeans

Seven-time Paralympic champion Teresa Perales and young star Ugo Didier among the names travelling to Portugal 01 May 2021
A group of four women with Spain's uniform showing their medals
Teresa Perales, Nuria Marques, Sarai Gascon and Isabel Yinghua Hernandez (from left to right) are in the Spanish squad for the Euros
ⒸCatherine Ivill/Getty Images
By World Para Swimming

France and Spain have announced their teams going to Madeira, Portugal for the European Open Championships next month.

The French team will travel to the Portuguese island with 16 swimmers while the Spaniards released a first list* of athletes who will be in the Euros, with 24 names.

Spain finished fifth in the medal standings in the last edition of the Euros in Dublin, Ireland three years ago (13 gold, 16 silver and 23 bronze).

The squad includes seven-time Paralympic champion Teresa Perales, alongside London 2019 world champions Nuria Marquez and Jacobo Garrido.

“We are going to the Europeans in Madeira with a very important and renewed group,” Laureano Gil, national team coach said. “There are many swimmers who made their international debut at Dublin 2018 and that, now, three years later, we will give all they can to achieve great results together with the more experienced swimmers.”


Brothers in the pool

Among the French athletes in action in the Penteada Swimming Complex, will be 19-year-old Ugo Didier who took home one gold and one silver in his first Euros in Ireland.

London 2019 double-medallist Alex Portal is also on the list with his younger brother Kylian.

Theo Curin, David Smetanine and Claire Supiot are other Paralympic and World Championships medallists competing in Madeira.

France ended in the 11th position in the last Europeans with two gold medals, four silver and eight bronze.


Madeira 2020 is the biggest Para swimming competition before the Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games in August. The European Open Championships will take place from 16 to 22 May.

Complete squads below.

France at Madeira 2020:
Jade Le Bris
Emeline Pierre
Anaelle Roullet
Claire Supiot
Laurent Chardard
Ugo Didier
Florent Marais
Alex Portal
Kylian Portal
Charles Rozoy
David Smetanine
Quentin Viera
Sami El Gueddari
Guillaume Domingo 
Koen Van Landeghem
Baptiste Hemeryck

Spain at Madeira 2020*:
David Sanchez Sierra
Francisco Salinas 
Miguel Angel Martínez Tajuelo
Sergio Vaquero
Luis Huerta
Antoni Ponce
Ariel Schrenck
Oscar Salguero
David Levecq
Sergio Martos
Jose Antonio Mari
Judit Rolo
Teresa Perales
Nuria Marques
Sarai Gascon
Nahia Zudaire
Isabel Yinghua Hernandez
Julia Benito
Inigo Llopis
Jacobo Garrido
Sebastian Rodriguez
Carlos Martínez
Vicente Xavier Torres 
Francisca Castro

* Initially announced on 29 April 2021 as the complete Spanish team for the Madeira 2020 European Open Championships. Updated on 1 May.