Host the next World Para Ice Hockey Championships!

Interested organisers can bid to host the sport’s biggest event in 2021 13 Sep 2019
Overview of packed ice arena
Nearly 65,000 spectators showing up at Ostravar Arena throughout the 2019 Worlds
ⒸOstrava 2019 LOC
By World Para Ice Hockey

World Para Ice Hockey is searching for the next organisers of its 2021 World Championships A and B-Pools, with the bidding process now open. 

The Worlds A-Pool will be the last major competition for the sport’s top nations before the pinnacle Beijing 2022 Paralympic Winter Games. 

Teams expected to take part in the 2021 A-Pool are: USA, Canada, South Korea, Czech Republic, Norway and Italy, who all finished top six at the most recent World Championships A-Pool in May in Ostrava, Czech Republic. 

The USA edged Canada in an over-time thriller to snatch their fourth world title. The 2019 hosts also enjoyed watching their team battle South Korea for the bronze. But to the dismay of the 8,600 sold-out crowd, the Czech Republic 
could not overcome the PyeongChang 2018 bronze medallists. 

Czech fans watched their team take their highest finish in seven years at a Worlds


Ostrava 2019 attracted fans from abroad


South Korea would hope to take revenge on Canada and reach the finals at the 2021 Worlds A-Pool


Two other teams will join the ranks of those six nations in 2021, and that will be decided after this year’s Worlds B-Pool, which is set to hit off 17 November in Berlin, Germany.

The two highest ranked teams from Berlin 2019 will move up. Replacing them in the B-Pool for 2021 will be Sweden and Japan, as both finished bottom at Ostrava 2019. 

Following the completion of both 2021 Worlds, the Qualification Tournament will follow to give teams one last opportunity to make it to Beijing 2022. 

Nations have until 6 January 2020 to submit their Bid Interest Forms for the 2021 World Championships A-Pool and B-Pool. 

More information is available at World Para Ice Hockey's website.