Östersund to host ice sledge hockey Euros

The Östersund Arena will feature clashes between reigning champions Italy, Norway, Czech Republic, Russia, Germany and hosts Sweden. 23 Feb 2016
Five ice sledge hockey players on the field during a game

Sweden v Austria at the2015 IPC Ice Sledge Hockey World Championships B-Pool in Ostersund

ⒸKarl Nilsson

IPC Ice Sledge Hockey has announced that Östersund, Sweden, will host the 2016 European Championships between 5-10 April.

The tournament will feature reigning European champions Italy, Paralympic silver medallists Russia, Norway, Czech Republic, Germany and hosts Sweden at the Östersund Arena, the venue for the 2015 World Championships B-Pool.

Jessica Korber, IPC Ice Sledge Hockey Sport Manager, said: “We are delighted to be returning to Östersund after a successful World Championships in 2015.

“This will be the first Euros since we announced the new competition cycle in 2014 and is a key opportunity for teams to test themselves with just two years to go until the PyeongChang 2018 Paralympic Winter Games.

“I am sure that they will have the best stage possible on which to compete and I am grateful to the Swedish Paralympic Committee and Para Sports Jämtland Härjedalen for their support in organising what I am sure will be a memorable Championships.”

"We are extremely proud to once again be part of arranging a major Championship in IPC's winter programme,” Fredrik Andersson of Para Sports Jämtland Härjedalen, said. “We've had so much positive feedback from arranging the World Championships (B-pool) last year. It is thought that Östersund has the best stadium in Europe for sledge hockey and we’ll do our best to make these Championships fantastic.”

The last European Championships were held in Solleftea, Sweden, in 2011. Italy stormed to gold with a 2-0 win over the Czech Republic despite finishing second in Group B. In the bronze medal game, Norway beat Estonia 4-0.

In 2014, IPC Ice Sledge Hockey announced the new competition cycle which includes regional Championships and World Championships for A and B-Pool teams, as well as a new C-Pool World Championships.