Swimming Rio 2016 MQS published

IPC Swimming has published the Minimum Qualification Standards which sit alongside key qualifiers at the 2015 Worlds in Glasgow and other competitions. 30 Jan 2015
Under water shot, leads the pack

Swimmers at the London 2012 Paralympic Games

ⒸLieven Coudenys

IPC Swimming has published the minimum qualification standards (MQS) for Rio 2016, which outlines the times swimmers will have to meet if they want to have a chance to compete at the next Paralympic Games.

Qualification by MQS is one way for swimmers to clinch a slot for their National Paralympic Committee in the Games. The other is through the 2015 IPC Swimming World Championships in Glasgow, Great Britain, which was outlined in the International Paralympic Committee’s qualification criteria from January 2014.

At Glasgow 2015 the gold and silver medallist from each event will secure a coveted place for their NPC.

The MQS meanwhile applies to performances at all IPC Swimming recognised competitions from 15 October 2014 and before 31 January 2016, when slots will be allocated to NPCs based on their athletes’ performances.

Glasgow 2015 is expected to attract 650 of the world’s best swimmers from 50 countries between 13-19 July, competing in the same 152 medal events as Rio 2016.

The swimming programme for Rio offers a total of 620 slots, split between 340 for men and 280 for women.

Related Documents