Australia names powerful team for Tokyo 2020

Squad features 15 debutants along with some of the most successful swimmers in the country's Paralympic history, like six-time gold medallist Ellie Cole 17 Jun 2021
A woman swimming in a pool during a competition
Australia's Para swimming legend Ellie Cole has 15 Paralympic medals to her name
ⒸBob Martin for OIS/IOC
By Paralympics Australia

Australia’s top Para swimmers are set to write a new chapter in the nation’s decorated history at the Paralympics after a 32-strong team was confirmed to compete at the Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games in little over two months.

The team features 15 debutants along with some of the most successful swimmers in Australian Paralympic history, including six-time gold medallist and winner of 15 Paralympic medals Ellie Cole, seven-time medallist Matthew Levy, and Brenden Hall, who has won six Para-swimming medals including three gold so far.

Also among those named were Lakeisha Patterson, winner of six medals at the Rio 2016 Paralympics including two gold, and Tiffany Thomas Kane, who won four medals in Rio including one gold.

Levy, 34, is the most senior member of the team and will now prepare to compete at his fifth Paralympics, having started his Paralympic journey at Athens 2004. The youngest member of the team is 15-year-old Isabella Vincent, who qualified in front of her home crowd at the 2021 Australian Swimming Trials in Adelaide.

The Para swimming Team for Tokyo was introduced by Australian Team Chef de Mission Kate McLoughlin at the completion of the Trials on Wednesday (16 June) night.

“What we know from previous Games is that swimming often sets the barometer for other sports in which we compete,” McLoughlin said.

“In Rio, our 36 swimmers brought home 29 medals, including nine gold, an inspiring outcome that formed the foundation of Australia’s top-five finish at the Games.

“This particular group has faced a lot of adversity in the past year or so. Yet, through their resilience and desire, and with exemplary support from Swimming Australia, they will head to Japan as ready as they could possibly be to compete at their best.”

Strong tradition

Paralympics Australia Chief Executive Lynne Anderson said: “Any conversation about Australia’s incredibly proud history at the Paralympic Games will always include swimming.

“It’s one of our truly national sports and one in which generations of our Para athletes have genuinely excelled.

“Since the first Paralympics, in Rome in 1960, Australian swimmers have won 420 medals, including 128 gold, 150 silver and 142 bronze. We sit fifth on the all-time gold medal tally in Para swimming and third in total medals won, behind only Great Britain and the United States.

“It’s a remarkable record and when I look at the calibre of the swimmers we’ll have representing us in Tokyo, I have no doubt we’ll see a strong, cohesive and dedicated group of athletes giving everything they’ve got to make the nation proud, just as their predecessors did.”

Speedo will provide the exclusive and innovative competition racing and training suits for the Australian Paralympic Team in Tokyo.

The Australian Paralympic Swim Team for the Tokyo Paralympic Games:
Jesse Aungles
Emily Beecroft
Ricky Betar
Ellie Cole
Rowan Crothers
Katja Dedekind
Tim Disken
Thomas Gallagher
Jasmine Greenwood
Brenden Hall
Benjamin Hance
Kirralee Hayes
Tim Hodge
Ahmed Kelly
Paige Leonhardt
Matt Levy
William Martin
Ashleigh McConnell
Madeleine McTernan
Jake Michel
Grant Patterson
Lakeisha Patterson
Col Pearse
Ben Popham
Liam Schluter
Keira Stephens
Ruby Storm
Tiffany Thomas Kane
Alexander Tuckfield
Ashley Van Rijswijk
Isabella Vincent
Rachael Watson