Ostrava 2021: Get to know Canada

The four-time world champions have finished on the podium at all but one of its 10 Worlds appearances 17 Jun 2021
Three Canadian Para ice hockey players hugging in celebration during a game
Greg Westlake and Liam Hickey (right) celebrating, the two will be again defending Canada at a major championships at Ostrava 2021
ⒸLintao Zhang/Getty Images
By Stuart Lieberman | For World Para Ice Hockey

The 2021 World Para Ice Hockey Championships will take place from 19-26 June in Ostrava, Czech Republic. The top eight teams from around the world will compete for five Paralympic qualification spots. Follow along as we break down what you need to know about each team.

Background: Canada has finished on the podium at all but one of its 10 World Championships appearances, having won the world title four times. There will be 13 players returning from its silver-medal winning roster last time in Ostrava, including veterans Greg Westlake, Tyler McGregor and Bill Bridges. They will be looking to follow Canada’s able-bodied team, which won gold at the IIHF World Championships last month. 

World Ranking: 2nd 

World Championships History: 
2019: 2nd place 
2017: 1st place
2015: 2nd place
2013: 1st place
2012: 3rd place
2009: 3rd place
2008: 1st place
2004: 4th place
2000: 1st place
1996: 3rd place

Athlete to Watch: Liam Hickey, who has also competed at the Paralympics in wheelchair basketball, led all players at the last World Para Ice Hockey Championships with eight goals. His plus-14 rating really showcases his value for Team Canada when he’s on the ice, and he’s been focusing on Para ice hockey during this two-Games cycle with Tokyo 2020 and Beijing 2022.

Matchup to Watch: Canada vs. USA at 15:00 (CEST) on 19 June, the first day of preliminary play, is the arch-rival matchup everyone is waiting for. The two foes have faced each other in the last four gold-medal games at the World Championships and are once again the top two seeds entering the tournament. 

Canada roster:

Adam Kingsmill
Dominic Larocque

Rod Crane
Tyrone Henry
Liam Hickey
Branden Sison
Greg Westlake

Rob Armstrong
Billy Bridges
Dominic Cozzolino
James Dunn
Auren Halbert
Anton Jacobs-Webb
Zach Lavin
Antoine Lehoux
Tyler McGregor
Corbyn Smith