Ostrava 2021: Get to know Italy

A closer look at one of the most consistent teams in action on the ice at this month's World Para Ice Hockey Championships 11 Jun 2021
Three Para ice hockey players with the uniform of Italy celebrating with another player from Japan observing
Nils Larch (centre) will be representing Italy in his fourth World Championships this year in Czech Republic
ⒸOstrava 2019 LOC
By Stuart Lieberman | For World Para Ice Hockey

The 2021 World Para Ice Hockey Championships will take place from 19-26 June in Ostrava, Czech Republic. The top eight teams from around the world will compete for five Paralympic qualification spots. Follow along as we break down what you need to know about each team. Now let's take a look at Italy.

Background: Italy has had as much consistency at the World Championships as any other team, having finished in fifth or sixth place in all seven of their appearances at the event dating back to 2008. Anchored by veteran defensemen Andrea Macri and Gianluigi Rosa, along with mainstay forwards Sandro Kalegaris and Florian Planker, the Italian contingent will also include rising stars Nils Larch and Alex Enderle.

World Ranking: 6th 

World Championships History: 
2019: 6th place 
2017: 5th place 
2015: 5th place
2013: 5th place
2012: 6th place
2009: 6th place
2008: 6th place

Athlete to Watch: At age of 24, forward Nils Larch will already be competing in his fourth World Championships. He had two goals and two assists in five games last time in Ostrava. He is expected to be one of the future faces of both Team Italy and the sport of Para ice hockey for years to come.

Matchup to Watch: Italy vs. Norway on 19 June at 18:00 (CEST), the opening day of the tournament, will be a rematch of the fifth-place game from the 2019 World Championships. Last time out, Norway defeated Italy, 1-0, in a shootout.

Italy roster:

Gabriele Araudo
Santino Stillitano

Gian Luca Cavaliere
Alex Enderle
Julian Kasslatter 
Stefan Kerschbaumer
Andrea Macri
Roberto Radice
Gianluigi Rosa

Alessandro Andreoni
Christoph Deapoli
Sandro Kalegaris
Nils Larch
Florian Planker
Matteo Remote Marini 
Igor Stella
Francesco Torella