Ostrava 2021: Get to know USA

Defending champions have not missed the podium at a World Championships in 21 years, and two of their titles were won in Ostrava 18 Jun 2021
A man celebrating with a group of Para ice hockey players on an ice rink after a match in an indoor arena
USA will be going for their fifth title and a repeat of their last appearance in Ostrava when they won the 2019 World Championships
ⒸOstrava 2019 LOC
By Stuart Lieberman | For World Para Ice Hockey

The 2021 World Para Ice Hockey Championships will take place from 19-26 June in Ostrava, Czech Republic. The top eight teams from around the world will compete for five Paralympic qualification spots.

We have broken down what you need to know about each team and now is time for world ranking leaders and defending champions USA.

Background: The USA owns four world titles, tying them with Canada for the most in history, along with four Paralympic titles. They have not missed the podium at a World Championships in 21 years, and two of their world titles were won in Ostrava. Their top core of forwards Brody Roybal and Declan Farmer, defender Josh Pauls, and goaltender Steve Cash will all be returning.

World Ranking: 1st

World Championships History: 
2019: 1st place 
2017: 2nd place
2015: 1st place
2013: 2nd place
2012: 1st place
2009: 1st place
2008: 3rd place
2004: 2nd place
2000: 6th place
1996: 5th place

Athlete to Watch: Many many expect to see the names of top scorers Declan Farmer and Brody Roybal highlighted here, but instead, our eyes are on Steve Cash in front of the net. He has been competing on Team USA for 15 seasons with four Paralympic and six World Championship medals to his name. The question is — is Mr. Consistency still in his prime, or when will his age catch up with him?

Matchup to Watch: Canada vs. USA at 15:00 on 19 June, the first day of preliminary play, is the arch-rival matchup everyone is waiting for. The two foes have faced each other in the last four gold-medal games at the World Championships and are once again the top two seeds entering the tournament. 

USA roster:

Steve Cash
Jen Lee

Ralph DeQuebec
Christopher Douglas
David Eustace
Josh Pauls
Jack Wallace

Travis Dodson
Declan Farmer
Noah Grove
Josh Hargis
Kevin McKee
Josh Misiewicz
Rico Roman
Brody Roybal
Joey Woodke
Kyle Zych