The IPC recognises and values the granting of awards as an important tool to give personal and public recognition to the achievements and contributions of those within the Paralympic Movement who contribute towards the IPC’s vision both on and off the field of play.

The IPC encourages its members to identify and nominate suitable candidates for IPC awards, at the relevant time, and for any other relevant external award that increases the visibility of the Paralympic Movement.

Paralympic Order

Paralympic Games Appreciation Award

Paralympic Hall of Fame


IPC Scientific Award


The Paralympic Honour is awarded to high-ranking dignitaries and officials partnering with the Paralympic Movement who have contributed significantly to the Paralympic Movement.

The Paralympic Honour will normally be presented at a reception or protocol event. Nominations may be submitted by IPC Members and members of the Governing Board and Athletes’ Council, and the IPC will send an invitational letter and a nomination form, including the timelines and criteria. The decision to award the Paralympic Honour is at the sole discretion of the Governing Board.


Michael Diekmann CEO Allianz SE (2003-2015)
Ilham Aliyev President of Azerbaijan
Kaj Leo Johannesen Prime Minister of Faroe Islands
The Honorouble Dato' Sri Mohd Najib bin Tun Abdul Razak Prime Minister of Malaysia
Olafur Ragnar Grimsson President of Iceland
Roh Moo-Hyun President of Korea
Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva President of the Federal Republic of Brazil
Dr. Kazuo Hatada President of Far East and South Pacific Games of the Disabled (FESPIC)
Prof. Dr. Horst Köhler President of the Federal Republic of Germany
Wen Jiabao Premier of People's Republic of China
Ferenc Gyurcsany Prime Minister of Hungary
Jacques Rogge President of the International Olympic Committee (IOC)
Dilma Rousseff President of Brazil