Classification by Sport

Classification differs from sport to sport. This is because an Eligible Impairment may have a relatively low impact on performing the activities required in one sport, but a significant impact in another. Every International Federation must develop and implement a Classification System that complies with the Code and the International Standards (Article 2.2, IPC Athlete Classification Code 2015).

Specifically, a Classification System must:

  • Clearly state that an Athlete must have an Eligible Impairment in order to compete in the sport. Such Impairments must come from the list of Eligible Impairments presented in the International Standard for Eligible Impairments.
  • Set processes and procedures for assessing whether an athlete has an Eligible Impairment. These processes and procedures must conform with the International Standard for Eligible Impairments.
  • Set Minimum Impairment Criteria for each Eligible Impairment. Minimum Impairment Criteria must be written in a way that can be objectively assessed and comply with the International Standard for Eligible Impairment and for Athlete Evaluation.
  • Require that Athletes be allocated a Sport Class based on the extent to which Athletes are able to execute the specific tasks and activities fundamental to the Para sport or discipline. The process by which Sport Classes are allocated must comply with the International Standard for Athlete Evaluation.

To help direct you to sport-specific information, links to Classification information for each International Federation have been provided below.

Alpine skiing Powerlifting
Archery  Rowing
Athletics Shooting
Badminton Sitting volleyball
Boccia Snowboard
Canoe Swimming
Cycling Table tennis
Dance sport Taekwondo
Equestrian Triathlon
Blind football Wheelchair basketball
Goalball  Wheelchair curling
Ice hockey Wheelchair fencing
Judo Wheelchair rugby
Nordic skiing Wheelchair tennis