The Paralympic Order is the highest and most prestigious accolade anyone can be recognised with by the IPC. It is awarded to individuals/organisations who have made an outstanding and long-lasting contribution to the Paralympic Movement, normally during a ceremony held around the General Assembly.

How are individuals/organisations nominated?

Nominations may be submitted by IPC Members and members of the Governing Board and Athletes’ Council, with a limit of one entry per nominator. The IPC will send an invitational letter and a nomination form to all IPC Members, including the timelines and criteria. 

A Selection Committee will be appointed by the President to evaluate the nominations received and recommend a maximum of six candidates to the Governing Board for approval. The Selection Committee must have a strong gender balance, and may include members of the Governing Board, Management Team and other suitable members of the Paralympic Movement. 

The Governing Board will then select a maximum of four candidates to receive the Paralympic Order.




Paul Bird

President of Oceania Paralympic Committee

Rita von Driel

IPC Governing Board Member at Large

Greg Nugent

London 2012 Paralympic Games marketer and filmmaker behind the Paralympic documentary Rising Phoenix

Yasushi Yamawaki

Vice President, Tokyo 2020 Organising Committee and IPC Governing Board Member at Large





Late Jose Luis Campo

Former President of the Americas Paralympic Committee

Greg Hartung AO

Former IPC Vice-President and former President of Paralympic Australia

Alan Dickson

Former IPC Governing Board Member

Rudi van den Abbeele

President of the International Wheelchair & Amputee Sports Federation

Dr. Bassam Qasrawi

Head of Classification of World Para Powerlifting Sport Technical Committee

Mahmoud Khosravi Vafa

President of I.R. Iran National Paralympic Committee

Georg Schlachtenberger

Former IPC Chief Operating Officer and Agitos Foundation Director

Paralympic Order (1994-2018)

Earlier Paralympic Order winners, dating back to 1994, can be found in this document.