External Awards


There are several awards given by global organisations to people who have contributed to and influenced the Paralympic Movement.

The Laureus World Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability is awarded to the athlete who best demonstrates excellent athletic performance and achievement in a competitive sport on the Paralympic programme. The athlete must also who strong leadership qualities in his/her chosen sport, in community activities and in public speaking. For more information, please visit www.laureus.com.

Paralympic alpine skiing champion Henrieta Farkasova and guide Natalia Subrtova won the 2019 Laureus Award


The General Association of International Sports Federations (GAISF) Award was created to recognise and honour those individuals who have contributed to the development of their sport as well as to sport in general. The first GAISF Award was presented in May 2003 to H.E. Mr. Juan Antonio Samaranch. For more information, please visit www.agfisonline.com.

The International Fair Play Awards are given annually by the International Committee of Fair Play (CIFP), a prestigious organisation co-founded by International Committee for Sports Science and Physical Education (ICSSPE) and the International Sports Press Association (AIPS) more than 40 years ago. The awards include diplomas, letters of congratulations, and major trophies in three categories (the Pierre de Coubertin International Fair Play Trophy, awarded to an athlete or a team for a gesture of fair play; the Jean Borotra International Fair Play Trophy, awarded to a person for a general attitude of fair play showed during his/her career and the Willi Daume International Fair Play Trophy awarded to a person or an organisation for promoting fair play). For more information, please visit www.fairplayinternational.org.

The IOC/IAKS AWARD is the only architecture award of international importance for existing sports and leisure facilities. The IPC/IAKS Distinction recognises the world’s best accessible sports and leisure facilities. It aims to promote accessibility to sports facilities and other buildings in order to give persons with a disability the opportunity to practise or view sport without limitation or barriers. 2006 was the first time that the IPC/IAKS Distinction for Accessibility has been awarded. More information can be found on the official website at www.iaks.info.

The Whang Youn Dai Acheivement Award is presented to one male and one female athlete at the Paralympic Games. It is given to those who best exemplify the spirit of the Games, regardless of the outcome of their performances. The prize is named after Dr. Whang Youn Dai, who has contributed her life to promoting the welfare and persons with a disability.