Athletes Speed Through Biathlon and Giant Slalom in Solleftea

06 Feb 2009 By IPC

Results from the third day of competition at the 2009 Paralympic Winter World Cup reveal strong athletic performance continuing in Solleftea, Sweden.

The Giant Slalom competition from 5 February shows a mix of countries having athletes in top positions. In the Men’s Standing race, Cedri Amafroi-Broisat from France once again took the top position, finishing with a time of 2:26.83. Following Amafro-Broisat were compatriot Romain Riboud and Bart Verbruggen (NED). Riboud finished less than a minute after Amafro-Broisat. The Men’s Sitting competition saw Christoph Kunz from Switzerland several seconds ahead in first, with Andreas Kapfinger (AUT) and Markus Pfisterer (SUI) in second and third, respectively.

Slovakia’s athletes took over the Men’s Visually Impaired race, with Marek Kubacka and Michal Beladic finishing in first and second respectively.

The Women’s Sitting race has Sweden’s Linnea Ranudd take first, and Jane Sowerby from Great Britain in second. The Standing race had Alyda Norbruis (NED) in first, followed by Ursula Pueyo (ESP) and Anna Jochemsen (NED) respectively.

For the Biathlon on 5 February, the Men’s Sitting competition had Trygve Larsen from Norway once again in first with a time of 23:50.9. Larsen was followed by Georges Bettega (FRA) and Enzo Masiello (ITA) respectively. In the Men’s Pursuit, Norway’s Nils-Erik Ulset also took first again, followed by Yannick Bourseaux (FRA) in second and Josef Giesen (GER) in third.

The Women’s Biathlon Standing competition had Poland’s Katarzyna Rogowiec in first with a result time of 27:46.3. Rogowiec was followed by Japan’s Shoko Ota in second, and Italy’s Pamela Novaglio in third.