Belgian Paralympian of the Year shortlist announced

The award recognises the best performing Belgian athlete over 2014, with four World Championship medallists nominated. 12 Nov 2014
Michele George

Michele George did not expect to win gold at London 2012, but she ended up coming away from the Games with two first-place finishes.

ⒸGetty Images

Four Belgian athletes have been nominated the Paralympian of 2014 award by SportsPress and the Belgian Paralympic Committee, with the winner set to be named at a Gala Sports Dinner in December.

The athletes were nominated after all finishing amongst the medals at their sports’ respective World Championships during 2014.

Para-equestrian rider Michele George is nominated after winning double gold in the individual test and freestyle titles at the Alltech 2014 FEI World Equestrian Games in Normandy, France.

The table tennis team of Marc Ledoux, Loicq Mathieu and Ben Despineux claimed the bronze medal at the 2014 International Table Tennis Federation (ITTF) Para Table Tennis World Championships in Beijing, China, in the men’s class 8 category.

And 17-year-old table tennis player Florian Van Acker is also up for the award after winning bronze at the same competition.

Completing the nominations is Diederick Schelfhout, who won bronze on his debut at the Union Cycliste International (UCI) Track World Championships in Agauscalientes, Mexico.

In previous years, the award has been won by the likes of wheelchair racer Marieke Vervoort, para-cyclist Wim Declair and swimmer Sven Decaesstecker

For more information, visit the Belgian Paralympic Committee website.