Extensive Experience added to the CPC's Board of Directors

02 Nov 2011

"We are delighted to welcome the new and returning members to the Board."

Following its Annual General Meeting in Ottawa, the Canadian Paralympic Committee has announced the members of its 2011 Board of Directors, effective immediately.

Two new members will be added to the 2011 Board, including Blair McIntosh in the position of Director, High Performance. McIntosh is currently the Director of Sport for the Toronto 2015 Pan/Parapan American Games and was the past Chef de Mission for the Vancouver 2010 Paralympic Winter Games.

Also new to the Board is Rem Langan, acclaimed as Director of Finance. Langan is the Chairman of Ronald McDonald House Charities. He was previously the President/CEO of Ronald McDonald House Charities and was a Chief Marketing Officer and Vice President of McDonald's Restaurants of Canada Ltd. for many years. In this role, he was responsible for Olympic partnership relationships.

Dale Hooper, Senior Vice-President, Sales & Marketing, Rogers Media Inc., was acclaimed as Director of Communication. Gail Hamamoto was re-elected to the position of Director, Paralympic Development and Andrea Carey was the incumbent elected to a Member at Large position. Both Hamamoto and Carey have extensive experience delivering para-sport programs - from community level programs to high-performance programmes involved in the Paralympic Games.

In addition, Craig McCord, National Coach and Program Director for Swimming/Natation Canada's Para-swimming Program, will become the new representative of the Coaches' Council, replacing outgoing Ozzie Sawicki, Head Coach of the Para-Athletic program at Athletics Canada. McCord is a Chartered Professional Coach with a NCCP Level 3 Certification and 26 years of experience, including 11 years with Para-swimming at a national and international level.

Each position has a term of two years.

"We are delighted to welcome the new and returning members to the Board," said David Legg, President, Canadian Paralympic Committee.

"Their combined professional expertise, as well as passion for the Paralympic Movement, will undoubtedly stand us in good stead as the Canadian Paralympic Committee prepares for future Games and the goal of becoming the world's top Paralympic nation, while continuing to break new ground in the development and recruitment of more Canadians to para-sport. We'd also like to thank and recognize our outgoing Board members, Debbie Low, Ozzie Sawicki and Michael Edgson, for their invaluable contributions to the Board."

For more information about the Canadian Paralympic Committee's Board of Directors, please visit:www.paralympic.ca/board-directors