Finalists announced for the 2016 Australian Paralympic Awards

The winners will be revealed at a Gala Ceremony in Sydney on 8 December 30 Nov 2016
Three women with medals on the podium

Nuria Marques Soto (Spain) won gold in the women's 400m freestyle S9 at the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games. Australia's Ellie Cole and China's Jialing Xu finished second and third.

ⒸWagner Meier
By Australian Paralympic Committee

The Australian Paralympic Committee (APC) announced on Wednesday (30 November) the finalists for the prestigious 2016 Australian Paralympic Awards.

Seven awards will be presented at the Gala Ceremony in Sydney on Thursday, 8 December, including the highest accolade in Australian Paralympic sport – Paralympian of the Year.

The induction of new members into the Australian Paralympic Hall of Fame will also take place.

The awards and finalists are as follows:

Male Paralympian of the Year

Dylan Alcott (wheelchair tennis)

Curtis McGrath (Para canoe)

Scott Reardon (Para athletics)

James Turner (Para athletics)

Ryley Batt (wheelchair rugby)

Female Paralympian of the Year

• Maddison Elliott (Para swimming)

Carol Cooke (Para cycling)

• Lakeisha Patterson (Para swimming)

Katie Kelly (Para triathlon)

Ellie Cole (Para swimming)

Rookie of the Year

• Lakeisha Patterson (Para swimming)

• James Turner (Para athletics)

• Brayden Davidson (Para athletics)

• Tiffany Thomas Kane (Para swimming)

• Sam von Einem (Para table tennis)

Team of the Year

• The Steelers (wheelchair rugby)

• The Australian Sailing Team

• Women’s 4 x 100m freestyle relay team (Para swimming)

• Men’s Quad Doubles (wheelchair tennis)

• Women’s 4 x 400m relay team (Para athletics)

Coach of the Year

• Brad Dubberley (wheelchair rugby)

• Corey Bacon (Para triathlon)

• Andrea King (Para canoe)

• Harley Connolly (Para swimming)

• Iryna Dvoskina (Para athletics)

Tickets to the Australian Paralympic Awards are still available and can be purchased here.