IPC Representatives Included in IOC Commissions

15 Mar 2011 By IPC

A number of International Paralympic Committee (IPC) Governing Board Members and representatives have been included on various International Olympic Committee (IOC) Commissions for 2011 following a review of its membership.

The IPC’s President Sir Philip Craven, an IOC member, will continue to be part of the IOC Commission for Culture and Olympic Education and also the International Olympic Truce Foundation.

IPC Vice President Greg Hartung will continue his mandate as a member of the IOC Radio and Television Commission, and the IOC Co-orindation Commission for the Rio 2016 Games. In addition he has also been appointed a member of the IOC Press Commission.

Governing Board members Patrick Jarvis, Miguel Sagarra and Ann Cody will each continue to be members of the IOC Co-ordination Commissions for the London 2012, Sochi 2014 and 2018 Olympic and Paralympic Games respectively.

Robert Balk, the Chair of the IPC Athletes’ Council and Governing Board Member, retains his position on the IOC Athlete’s Commission.

Also continuing their membership are Mathias Berg, a member of the IPC’s Legal and Ethics Committee, on the IOC Sport and Law Commission and Gerard Mason, President of the French Paralympic and Sports Committee, on the IOC Sport for All Commission.

Tine Rindum Teilmann, Chair of the IPC’s Women in Sport Committee also retains her place on the Women and Sport Commission as does Johnson Jasson, President on the Tanzanian Paralympic Committee who will continue his membership of the IOC Sport and Environment Commission.