Masoud Ashrafi elected as Secretary General of NPC Iran

Ashrafi will succeed former Secretary General Amir Mandegarfard. 22 May 2016
Team Iran Sitting Volleyballl celebrating

Iran's Sitting Volleyballl team celebrates its victory over Bosnia Herzegovina at the Beijing 2008 Paralympic Games.

ⒸLieven Coudenys
By NPC Iran and IPC

Masoud Ashrafi has been elected as the new Secretary General of the National Paralympic Committee (NPC) of Iran, following the NPC’s 14th General Assembly held in late April in Tehran.

Ashrafi succeeds Amir Mandegarfard, who was showered with appreciation by the 49 attending members, and was elected with 45 votes out of 49.

Other new members joining him are:

- Dr. Anowshirvan Mohseni Bandpei, Head of the Iranian Welfare Organisation, with 25 votes as the new member of the Presiding Board

- Dr. Sima Limoochi with 29 votes in the second round of elections, as the new member of the Presiding Board

The assembly was well attended, with the presence of two deputies of Ministry of Sports and Youth, the Iran National Olympic Committee Secretary General, the Deputy of Education Minister as well as the Head of the Iran Welfare Organisation.