Paralympian and Technical Committee Chairperson Selected for WADA Committees

The World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA) has announced the appointment of two IPC members to its Education and Athlete Committee, both of which will commence on 1 January 2009. 28 Nov 2008 By IPC

Katarzyna Rogowiec, multiple gold medal winner in Cross-Country Skiing at the Torino 2006 Paralympic Winter Games and also Vice Chairperson of the IPC Athletes’ Council, was selected for the WADA Athlete Committee. Her membership will run for three years.

Sylvana Mestre, Chairperson of the IPC Alpine Skiing Technical Committee, was selected for the WADA Education Committee. Her membership will also run for three years.

The process of determining Committee composition involves the Chair of each Committee, in consultation with WADA Chairman, Hon. John Fahey and Director General David Howman. This is undertaken with several working committees to ensure fair distribution of membership between government and sport, regional divisions, and additionally taking into account gender and cultural balance where possible.

The WADA Athlete Committee was established to represent the views and rights of athletes worldwide, while providing insight and oversight into athletes’ roles and responsibilities as it relates to anti-doping.

The WADA Education Committee provides expert advice, recommendations and guidance to WADA Management with respect to both short term education strategies and activities, and longer term approaches to WADA’s education programmes.

WADA is the international independent organization created in 1999 to promote, coordinate, and monitor the fight against doping in sport in all its forms. Composed and funded equally by the sports movement and governments of the world, WADA coordinated the development and implementation of the World Anti-Doping Code (Code), the document harmonizing anti-doping policies in all sports and all countries.

For more information about WADA, please visit