Russia Crowned CPISRA Football World Champions

01 Jul 2011 By IPC

Russia are the Cerebral Palsy International Sports & Recreation Association (CPISRA) Football 7-a-Side World Champions after beating Iran, 6-1, in the final played in the Netherlands.

After beating Brazil, 4-0, to reach Friday’s final, the Beijing 2008 silver medalists started the final confidently and stormed to a 5-0 halftime lead.

The second half was a much closer affair with Iran converting a late penalty to tie the second half 1-1.

Russia finished the tournament undefeated having scored a whopping 32 goals and conceding just three. They must now start as favourites to win gold at the London 2012 Paralympic Games which get underway in just 425 days time.

Despite their final defeat Iran, who won bronze at the last Paralympic Games, should not leave the Netherlands disappointed. Up until the final they were the tournament’s top scorers with 27 goals and knocked out the Beijing 2008 Paralympic champions Ukraine in the previous round 4-2.

Three other games took place on Friday with Ukraine securing third place thanks to an emphatic 8-3 win over Brazil.

In the tie to decide fifth place, two goals in the space of five second half minutes by Dennis Straatman helped host nation the Netherlands come from one goal down to defeat Scotland, 3-1.

Argentina finished the tournament in seventh place after five unanswered second half goals helped they secure victory over USA 7-2.

The final rankings of the 2011 CPISRA 7-a-side Football World Championships are as follows:

1. Russia

2. Iran

3. Ukraine

4. Brazil

5. The Netherlands

6. Scotland

7. Argentina

8. USA

9. Ireland

10. England

11. Australia

12. Canada

13. Japan

14. Spain

15. Finland

16. Korea