Selvi, Dickenson-Lilley, Francois secure back-to-back Europa Cup slalom wins

The trio of skiers once again topped the podium in slalom at the IPC Alpine Skiing Europa Cup in Espot, Spain, on Saturday. 13 Feb 2016
France's Nicolas LOUSSALEZ (gold) Yohann TABERLET (silver) Frederic FRANCOIS (bronze)

Nicolas Loussalez (gold) Yohann Taberlet (silver) Frederic Francois (bronze) in the IPC Alpine Skiing Europa Cup in Tignes.

ⒸNicolas Nereau

Spain’s Anna Maria Selvi, Great Britain’s John Dickenson-Lilley and France’s Frederic Francois all secured their second slalom wins in consecutive days by topping the podium at the IPC Alpine Skiing Europa Cup in Espot on Saturday (13 February).

Francois arguably won the race of the day in the men’s sitting, once again edging out teammate Yohann Taberlet. A superb first run by Francois secured him the win as he finished with an overall time of 1:36.49. Despite finishing the second run fastest, Taberlet (1:39.29) had to settle for second whilst third was the Netherlands’ Niels de Langen.

It was like Groundhog Day in the women’s visually impaired class with Saturday’s podium identical to Friday’s. Selvi (1:56.32), guided by Esther Noguera, was quickest in both runs to once again finish ahead of Belgium’s Eleonor Sana and her guide Chloe Sana (2:00.50). Rounding out the podium for a second successive day was Sana’s teammate Marie-Morgane Dessart and guide MFA Antoine (2:12.62).

Great Britain’s John Dickinson-Lilley, guided by Jack Davey, (2:03.87), claimed his second slalom win in Espot in the men’s visually impaired finishing ahead of Croatia’s Damir Mizdrak and guide Luka Debeljak (2:08.00).

Two Austrians made up the podium of the men’s standing. Martin Wuerz (1:33.58), who was fastest in both runs, took the top step whilst his team mate CB Schneider (1:41.18) was third. Sandwiched in-between was Finland’s Santeri Kiiveri (1:39.78).

After finishing second on Friday, Switzerland’s Bigna Schmidt (1:55.62) topped the podium in the women’s standing. She held off the Spanish duo of Barabra Perez de Juan (2:06.44) and Ursula Pueyo Marimon(2:15.86) in to second and third respectively.

The women’s sitting was won by the Netherlands’ Linda van Impelen (2:00.71) after she finished well ahead of France’s Laureen Welschbillig (2:07.86).

Full results are available at IPC Alpine Skiing’s calendar and results page.