Sweden and Ecuador announce Paralympic delegations

A total of 54 athletes will represent Sweden, and four athletes and one guide will compete for Ecuador at Rio 2016. 17 Jul 2016
Anna-Carin Ahlquist

Anna-Carin Ahlquist's main competitors in her class are Slovakia's Alena Kanova and Slovenia's Mateja Pintar.

ⒸMartin Naucler
By NPC Sweden and NPC Ecuador

With the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games fast approaching, more countries are announcing their delegations. Now was the turn for Sweden and Ecuador.

London 2012 table tennis gold medallist Anna Carin-Ahlquist, shooting multi-Paralympic champion Jonas Jacobsson and Paralympic doubles wheelchair tennis reigning champion Stefan Olsson will headline the 54-strong Swedish delegation, which will take part in 14 sports.

Swimmer Maja Reichard also seeks to repeat London 2012’s gold in the women’s 100m breaststroke SB11.

Athletes Darwin Castro, with his guide Sebastian Rosero, Ronny Santos, Poleth Mendez and Stalin Mosquera will represent Ecuador, who will be hoping to win their first Paralympic medal at Rio 2016.

The Agitos Foundation Road to Rio 2016 video series featured Darwin Castro during his preparations for September’s Paralympic Games.

Sweden aim to outdo their London 2012 performance, when they claim four golds, four silvers and four bronzes.

Rio 2016 will be the first Paralympic Games to be held in Latin America and will take place from 7-18 September.


The full Swedish roster can be found online.



Sport fans from around the world can now buy their Paralympic tickets for Rio 2016 from authorised ticket resellers (ATRs)

The IPC’s Global ATR is Jet Set Sports, and Rio 2016 tickets and packages can be purchased on the CoSport website.

Residents of Brazil can buy 2016 Paralympics tickets directly from the Rio 2016 website.

Visa International is the exclusive payment card and the official payment system for the Paralympic Games.

Related Images