Wheelchair Basketball Canada hold selection camp

Canada will select their men's and women's national teams at a selection camp this week at the University of Nevada. 03 Jan 2013
Patrick Anderson

Patrick Anderson celebretes with his teammates after winning his third Paralympic gold at London 2012.

ⒸLieven Coudenys

Forty-six athletes (22 men and 24 women) will compete for 12 roster spots on each of the Canadian men's and women's team.

Wheelchair Basketball Canada has released the list of Canada’s top wheelchair basketball players attending the programme's 2013 Selection Camp at the University of Nevada this week. The camp began on Wednesday (2 January) and will run for an entire week.

Forty-six athletes (22 men and 24 women) will compete for 12 roster spots on each of the Canadian men's and women's team. The camp roster includes eight returning players from the London 2012 Paralympic gold-medal winning men’s team, and nine returning players from the women’s team.

The men's national team went undefeated at the London 2012 Paralympics to capture their third gold medal in four Paralympic Games. It is the latest accomplishment in a sport dynasty that has placed them on the podium at four consecutive Paralympics and at five of the last six World Championships.

The women's national team is among the most successful and dominant teams in Canadian amateur sport history. The team captured three consecutive Paralympic gold medals in 1992, 1996, and 2000, and bronze in 2004. They have also reached the podium at six consecutive World Championships.

The 46 athletes attending selection camp are listed below. Athletes with Paralympic Games experience denoted with an asterisk.


Aaron Moseley-Williams (Winnipeg, Man.)

Abdi Dini (Scarborough, Ont.) *

Adam Lancia (Halifax, N.S.) *

Anthony Purcell (Burnaby, B.C.)

Alex Courcelles (Saint-Roch-de-l'Achigan, Que.)

Brandon Wagner (Burlington, Ont.) *

Corey Smith (Ottawa, Ont.)

Chad Jassman (Calgary, Alta.) *

David Eng (Montreal, Que.) *

Deion Green (Victoria, B.C.)

Gregg Johnstone (Regina, Sask.)

Jonathan Vermette (Sherbrooke, Que.)

Justin Johnson (Milner, B.C.)

Kevin Wakeling (Cambridge, Ont.)

Mickael Poulin (Quebec, Que.)

Mitchell Bossaer (Saskatoon, Sask.)

Nikola Goncin (Regina, Sask.)

Philippe Vermette (Sherbrooke, Que.)

Reid Richard (Tyvan, Sask.)

Robert “Bo” Hedges (Wonowon, B.C.) *

Tyler Miller (Kitchener, Ont.) *

Yvon Rouillard (Montreal, Que.) *

Head Coach: Jerry Tonello (Toronto, ON)


Alarissa Haak (Edmonton, Alta.)

Andrea Wojcik (Calgary, Alta.)

Amanda Yan (Vancouver, B.C.)

Ashley Baerg (Dalmeny, Sask.)

Catherine Pashko (Edmonton, Alta.)

Corin Metzger (Elmira, Ont.)

Christina Swett (Ottawa, Ont.)

Cindy Ouellet (Quebec, Que.) *

Darda Jane Sales (London, Ont.)

Elaine Allard (St. Eustache, Que.) *

Gabby Roberts-Winter (Regina, Sask.)

Helaina Cyr (Edmonton, Alta.)

Katie Harnock (Elmira, Ont.) *

Jamey Jewells (Donkin, N.S.) *

Janet McLachlan (Vancouver, B.C.) *

Jessica Forgeron (Calgary, Alta.)

Maude Jacques (Ste-Catherine, Que.) *

Melanie Hawtin (Oakville, Ont.)

Sophia Geffros (Waterford, Ont.)

Sheri-lyn Roberts (Cambridge, Ont.)

Stephanie Park (Maple Ridge, B.C.)

Tamara Steeves (Mississauga, Ont.) *

Tara Feser (St. Albert, Alta.) *

Tracey Ferguson (Richmond Hill, Ont.) *

Head Coach: Bill Johnson (Winnipeg, Man.)