Wheelchair Curlers Fight for World Medals in Switzerland

01 Feb 2008 By IPC

A total of ten teams will compete at the 2008 World Wheelchair Curling Championships from 1 to 9 February 2008 in Sursee, Switzerland, and again excite the spectators with thrilling matches.

It is the third of five World Wheelchair Curling Championships to be hosted in Sursee. The 2005 Championships were held in Scotland, while last year's 2007 shootout took place in Solleftea, Sweden.

Last year's champions, Norway, will return to Sursee with skip Rune Lorentsen at the tee. Host Switzerland is once again represented by Manfred Bollinger and his team, who won silver in 2007. Scotland's Michael McCreadie, now at skip position after winning the silver medal at the Torino 2006 Paralympics, will try to defend last years bronze medal.

Following a fourth-place finish last year, Canada's squad has experienced some change. Chris Daw, who had captained the team at every international event for many years, has withdrawn from competition. Three members of his Torino 2006 Paralympic gold Medal team, now skipped by Gerry Austgarden, remain. Sweden's Jalle Jungnell and Italy's Andrea Tabanelli qualified for Sursee from November's World Wheelchair Curling Championship Qualifying Competition in Scotland.

Other teams battling for playoff spots include Japan, Russia, USA and Korea.