Women in Sport Committee Chair Speaks at Conference

On the occasion of the International Women's Day last week, the Australian Paralympic Committee (APC) revealed plans for an exciting Paralympic component of the Arafura International Sports Conference in May. 11 Mar 2009 By IPC

Ms. Tine Rindum Teilmann, chairperson of the International Paralympic Committee (IPC) Women in Sport Committee and member of International Olympic Committee (IOC) Women in Sport Commission, will be the conference’s keynote speaker. An administrator with an amazing record of service in women’s sport and sport in general, Ms. Rindum Teilmann will deliver her keynote address on 9 May, during the opening morning of the two-day conference.

Staged as part of the Arafura Games in Darwin, Australia, the 2009 Arafura International Sports Conference will this year incorporate the IPC Women in Sport Summit. The Conference is an initiative of Arafura Games organizers - the Northern Territory Government and the Northern Territory Major Events Company (NTMEC) - and is supported by the APC. For the second time, the Arafura Games will include the Oceania Paralympic Championships.

“The APC is pleased to be associated with the NT Government in staging the Arafura International Sports Conference,” Miles Murphy, APC CEO, said. “And of course, the APC is delighted that the IPC Women in Sport Summit has been incorporated into the Conference. It is an exciting concept and will rightfully highlight the integral role women play not only in Paralympic Sport, but sport generally, at all levels.”

The conference will deal with sports development and science elements across both able-bodied sport and sport for athletes with a disability, and will also firmly address a range of issues relating to Women in Paralympic Sport.

Among the members of the IPC Women in Sport Discussion panel, are multiple Paralympic gold medallists Louise Sauvage and Amy Winters (Athletics), rising Paralympic star Jayme Paris (Cycling), 2008 Australian Paralympic Coach of the Year Iryna Dvoskina (Athletics) and leading Paralympic Administrator Kim Ellwood (Wheelchair Rugby).

For more information about the Arafura Games and the Oceania Paralympic Championships, please see the official website at www.arafuragames.nt.gov.au.