PyeongChang 2018 Winter Paralympic Games

The PyeongChang 2018 Paralympic Winter Games will take place between 9-18 March 2018.

The Games will feature up to 670 athletes, a 24 per cent increase on the 539 athletes that competed at Sochi 2014. This number includes a 44 per cent increase in the number of female athletes set compete compared to Sochi.

Athletes will compete in 80 medal events across six sports: alpine skiing, biathlon, cross-country skiing, ice hockey, snowboard and wheelchair curling.

Alpine skiing and snowboard events will take place at the Jeongseon Alpine Centre whilst the Alpensia Biathlon Centre will stage biathlon and cross-country events.

The Coastal Cluster will host the ice events. Para ice hockey will take place at the Gangneung Hockey Centre and the Gangneung Curling Centre will stage wheelchair curling.

As part of hosting the Games, the PyeongChang 2018 Organising Committee has launched “Actualising the Dream,” a project aimed at promoting Paralympic winter sports, raising awareness of Para sport and its athletes, and securing the social inclusion of people with an impairment.

The official mascot of the PyeongChang 2018 Paralympic Winter Games is “Bandabi” an Asiatic black bear, founded on South Korea’s mythology and closely associated with Korean culture and folklore.

The bear is symbolic of strong will and courage. The Asiatic Black Bear is also the symbol animal of Gangwon Province. In the name “Bandabi,” “banda” comes from “bandal” meaning “half-moon”, indicating the white crescent on the chest of the Asiatic Black Bear, and “bi” has the meaning of celebrating the Games.

PyeongChang 2018 was elected as host city following one round of voting at the 123rd IOC Session in Durban, South Africa.

Three cities bid for the Games:

PyeongChang, South Korea - 63 votes

Munich, Germany - 25 votes

Annecy, France - 7 votes