2021 Paralympic Sport Awards: Best Male Debut nominees

Awards recognising achievements at Tokyo 2020 will be presented on 16 December 07 Dec 2021 By IPC

The International Paralympic Committee (IPC) has announced the athletes who have made the shortlist in the Best Male Debut category for the 2021 Paralympic Sport Awards, recognising the achievements from the Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games.

The winner will be announced at the Awards Ceremony, which will be streamed live on the IPC’s YouTube Channel and Facebook page at 4pm CET on 16 December. ‘A Winning Mindset’ Paralympic podcast host Andy Stevenson and Australian Paralympic swimming legend Ellie Cole will host the Ceremony.

The shortlist for the Best Male Debut category is as follows:

Adam Peska (Czech Republic) 
Peska won boccia gold in the final of the class for athletes with the most severe disability on his Paralympic debut at Tokyo 2020. He managed to win all his matches and claimed gold with a tiebreaker against Greek legend Gregorios Polychronidis.

Nick Mayhugh (USA)    
Mayhugh took home three gold medals and one silver, medalling in every Para athletics event he competed in on the track. He grabbed the most individual medals for an American male at the Paralympic Games and set three new world records (100m T37, 200m T37, and the mixed 4x100m relay).

Reece Dunn (Great Britain)
The most successful British swimmer at Tokyo was also the most decorated athlete with an intellectual impairment. Dunn took five medals in his Games debut: 100m butterfly S14 – silver; 200m freestyle S14 – gold (including a world record); mixed 100m freestyle S14 – gold; 200m individual medley S14 – gold (including a world record); 100m backstroke S14 – bronze.

Winners will be announced across the following categories: Best Female, Best Male, Best Team, Best Female Debut, Best Male Debut and Best Official.

In addition to these six awards, the bp Courage Award will also be presented on 16 December recognising an athlete who best displayed the Paralympic value of courage at Tokyo 2020.