African Paralympic Committee to hold General Assembly

The meeting will see the election of a new President and members of the Executive Board. 07 Apr 2017
A picture of a man and a woman posing together for a photo

The African Paralympic Committee held its 2012 General Assembly in Luanda, Angola

ⒸNPC Angola

The African Paralympic Committee (APC) will be electing its President, along with new Executive Board members, next Thursday (14 April) during its General Assembly in Luanda, Angola.

A development workshop will also take place during the gathering, giving members an opportunity to present and discuss ideas on how Para sport can be developed and promoted in a more systematic way in Africa.

Leonel da Rocha Pinto, who has been APC President since 2010, will be seeking re-election.

The APC will also be electing two Vice Presidents, a Secretary General, a treasurer and representative of the four language communities.

Running for the Vice President positions are: Henri Tago (Central Africa), Agnes Oluoch (Kenya), Khaled Rgibi (Libya), Hamid El Aouni (Morocco); Frank Thorpe (Nigeria) and Leon Fleiser (South Africa).

Jose Rodrigo Bejarano (Cape Verde) and Dominique Bizimana (Rwanda) are candidates for the Secretary General position.

Antonio da Luz (Angola), Henri Tago (Central Africa), Dr. Bahiru Bezabih Giorgis (Ethiopia) and KhaledRgibi (Libya) are up for the treasurer position.

The APC Executive Board also counts one member from each of the four language communities: Arabic, English, French and Portuguese.

The eligible candidates for the language communities are:

Arabic: Hachfa Mouhamed (Algeria), Dr Hayat Klattab (Egypt), Tarek Rajab Elwaer (Libya) and Mostafa Fkeoui (Morocco)

English: Kassahun Sitotaw Haile (Ethiopia), Sulayman Colley (Gambia), Cornelius Adja Cofie (Ghana), Agnes Oluoch (Kenya), Elijah Mwandihi Aliero (Kenya), Festus Robinson (Liberia), James Chiutsi (Malawi), Michael Hamukwaya (Namibia), Monday Emoghavwe (Nigeria), Frank Thorpe (Nigeria), Leon Fleiser (South Africa), Mpindi Bumali (Uganda) and Micheal Bulagango (Zimbabwe), Unisa Deen Kargbo (Sierra Leone).

French: Leopold Gbnenou (Benin), Jonas Bamana (Congo), Simon Ibove (Congo), Seydou Doumbouya (Guinea), Dominique Bizimana (Rwanda) and Ben Hatta (Togo), Betty Miangindula (Democratic Republic of the Congo).

Portuguese: Elton Djon Costa Gonçalves (Cape Verde)