Athletes' Council Candidates Set For Vancouver Elections

A total of six athletes have been confirmed as candidates in the upcoming International Paralympic Committee (IPC) Athletes’ Council (AC) Elections during the Vancouver 2010 Paralympic Winter Games. 07 Jan 2010 By IPC

Listed below, the athletes will be aiming to fill one of the three winter representative positions on the IPC AC.

Yannick Bourseaux, Cross-Country Skiing, Male, France

Eskil Hagen, Ice Sledge Hockey, Male, Norway

Todd Nicholson, Ice Sledge Hockey, Male, Canada

Katarzyna Rogowiec, Cross-Country Skiing, Female, Poland

Gerd Schönfelder, Alpine Skiing, Male, Germany

William Stewart, Cross-Country Skiing, Male, USA

The upcoming IPC AC Elections take place from 10-19 March 2010 at the Voting Centres in the Vancouver and Whistler Paralympic Villages. Winter athletes at this time will have the opportunity to participate in the voting process during the Vancouver 2010 Paralympic Winter Games.

The IPC AC is the collective voice of Paralympic athletes within the IPC and the greater Paralympic Movement. As the liaison between IPC decision-makers and Paralympic athletes, the IPC AC works to provide effective input into decision-making at all levels of the organization. To this end, the IPC AC works to ensure effective athlete representation on all IPC committees and commissions as well as to create other opportunities for athlete representation both within and outside the IPC. For example, the IPC AC enjoys cross representation with the IOC Athletes’ Commission.

For any questions regarding the IPC Athletes’ Council Elections, please contact Ms. Verena Conrad at