Canada name 2015-16 alpine ski team

Eight skiers, including five men and three women, will attempt to build off a successful 2015 World Championships hosted at home. 13 May 2015
Mac Marcoux in a close-up focussing on the slalom pole in front of him

Canada's Mac Marcoux

ⒸGetty Images
By Alpine Canada Alpin

Alpine Canada Alpin (“ACA”) have announced the members of the Canadian Alpine Ski Team for the 2015-16 season, following their successful hosting of the 2015 IPC Alpine Skiing World Championships in Panorama.

Five men and three women make up the Canadian Para-Alpine Ski Team as they chase the podium on the World Cup circuit on the road to the 2018 PyeongChang Winter Paralympic Games.

“We commend each of the athletes named today for their dedication and commitment, required to meet ACA’s high performance team standard,” said Mark Rubinstein, Chief Executive Officer of Alpine Canada Alpin. “Our roster is stocked with Olympic, Paralympic, World Championships and World Cup winners ensuring that ACA remains a world leading ski nation in all of our disciplines”.

Mac Marcoux is the youngest team member, winning an impressive three medals at the Sochi 2014 Paralympic Winter Games in men’s visually impaired events– one gold (giant slalom) and two bronze (downhill and super-G).

Marcoux, 17, will be guided by his brother BJ once again, having won downhill gold at Panorama 2015 alongside two silver medals, for their first major international podiums as a team.

Kirk Schornstein, the 2013 men’s standing Canadian Champion, skied to his best ever results at the 2015 Worlds and heads into his seventh season at the top of the sport.

Standing skier Braydon Luscombe and sit-skier Kurt Oatway complete the men’s team.

The women’s roster includes Kimberly Joines, one of the world’s best female sit-skiers with eight World Championships and two Paralympic medals to her name.

Newcomer Erin Latimer, 18, retains her place on the team having debuted in the women’s standing classification in 2014, alongside 20-year-old Alana Ramsay.

The 2015-16 season calendar will be published shortly.