England to face Ukraine and Iran at CP Football 7-a-side World Championships

The CP Football World Championships will be played at St. George’s Park, England’s Football Associaion National Training Centre. 13 Mar 2015
Portrait shot of young man wearing red polo

Jack Rutter is the captain of the British football 7-a-side team.

By CP Football

The draw for the 2015 Cerebral Palsy (CP) Football World Championships took place on 11 March at St George’s Park, England’s Football Association National Training Centre. There are some exciting fixtures to look forward to, including current World and Paralympic Champions Russia against Republic of Ireland and a repeat of the London 2012 Paralympic bronze medal game between the Netherlands and Argentina.

Hosts England drew traditional powerhouses Ukraine and Iran, and will face Japan in their opening game on 16 June.

The draw was made by Team GB and England blind football legend Dave Clarke, St. George's Park chairman David Sheepshanks, FA director Kelly Simmons, and celebrated former Chelsea, Middlesbrough and Leeds United forward Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink, now manager of Burton Albion, who train at the National Football Centre.

Sheepshanks shared his excitement at the prospect of the world’s best CP football teams doing battle at the National Football Centre. “This is the biggest ever disability football event in this country and we can’t wait," he said.

“It’s a historic achievement for St. George’s Park and disability football in general. I promise we will give this tournament absolutely the prestige and the profile it deserves.”

The World Championships will kick off on 16 June and will run until 28 June when the final will be played.

The confirmed groups are as follows:

Group A: Ukraine, Iran, England Japan

Group B: Russia, Republic of Ireland, Australia, Portugal

Group C: Brazil, Scotland, USA, Venezuela

Group D: Netherlands, Argentina, Canada, Northern Ireland