Hamburg 2018: Germany announce teams

Wheelchair basketball Worlds hosts name men and women’s squads 12 Apr 2018
A group of female wheelchair basketballers in a circle

Germany's women are the Paralympic and world silver medallists

ⒸGetty Images

Germany have named their men and women’s teams who will star at their home 2018 Wheelchair Basketball World Championships, which take place from 16-26 August in Hamburg.

The first 11 in the women’s roster include eight experienced players from the silver medal team at the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games. Among them are Annabel Breuer, Johanna Welin, Laura Fuerst, Maya Lindholm, Mareike Miller and Marina Mohnen. In addition, two rookies (Lisa Nothelfer and Svenja Mayer) are expected to bring new energy.

The 11 were decided during a selection camp in Bad Honnef, Germany, conducted by new women’s head coach Martin Otto and co-trainer Janet McLachlan. The final place in the German squad will be decided at their training camp in Australia between 15 and 28 May, and will be a tough decision between Katharina Lang or Lena Knippelmeyer.

Germany are looking to break their silver streak, having finished runner-up at the 2017 Euros, 2016 Paralympics and 2014 World Championships.

Otto said, “I think we have put together a good mix of experienced athletes and young junior players. Marina has currently not yet reached her full fitness level due to some back problems, so we rest her for the camp in Australia but I’m optimistic that we can count on her completely. For Anne Briessmann [Rio 2016 Paralympian], I am very sorry that the injury compels her to be unavailable because she can always contribute with her calm and experience which is an important part of success. All in all, I am very satisfied with the last few days and I am excited about the spirit that already dominates the team.”

German women’s roster:

Anne Patzwald 1.0

Lisa Nothelfer 1.0

Catharina White 1.0

Annabel Breuer 1.5

Laura Fuerst 2.0

Johanna Welin 2.0

Maya Lindholm 2.5

Svenja Mayer 2.5

Barbara Gross 4.5

Mareike Miller 4.5

Marina Mohnen 4.5


A mix of young and veteran talent also makes up the German men’s squad, with the 12th player to be decided at a training camp in May.

Up-and-coming talents such as Nico Dreimueller, Matthias Guentner and Chris Huber will take on their home courts, and will be joined by experienced leaders including Thomas Boehme, Alex Halouski and captain Jan Haller.

The last spot will be a battle between youngster Oliver Jantz and veteran Andre Bienek, and decided by the coaching team at a training camp in the Nottwill, Switzerland.

All 11 nominated players were part of the team that earned bronze at the 2017 European Championships in Tenerife, Spain. Germany will now look to better their 11th place from the last World Championships in 2014.

Coach Nicolai Zeltinger said “We had an excellent quality selection camp. I’m excited about the respectful and hard way the athletes work together. This is the way we want to represent Germany during a home World Championships. We are sure that we have selected the right athletes.”

German men’s roster:

Christopher Huber 1.0

Frank Oehme 1.0

Phillip Schorp 1.0

Nico Dreimueller 2.0

Jan Haller 2.0

Thomas Boehme 3.0

Kai Moeller 3.0

Jan Sadler 3.0

Jan Gans 4.0

Matthias Guentner 4.5

Aliaksandr Halouski 4.5

Both teams now must be confirmed by the German Disabled Sports Federation (DBS).