IBSA World Games goalball schedule released

Fixtures will take place in Seoul, South Korea, between 10-17 May 2015. 30 Mar 2015
Masae Komiya

Japan's Masae Komiya throws the ball during her the women's goalball gold-medal match against China at the Copper Box at the London 2012 Paralympic Games.

ⒸGetty Images
By IBSA Goalball

The schedule for the goalball competition at the upcoming 2015 IBSA World Games in Seoul, South Korea, has been released.

Action kicks off in the men’s competition on Sunday 10 May with two Pool A fixtures. Paralympic bronze medallists Turkey face Mexico, before hosts South Korea against European silver medallists Spain.

In Pool B, goalball heavyweights Lithuania take on Venezuela. Following that Iran will face Australia.

The other competing nations in the men’s competition will not start their bid for glory until Monday 11 May. In Pool A Czech Republic will meet Egypt and Germany will face Sweden. In Pool B China will open against Belgium and Canada against Japan.

Matches in the women’s competition will start on Monday 11 May. The first match in Pool X pitches Paralympic silver medallists China against the emerging African force of Ghana for the first time. Israel will then meet Spain. Later in the day Finland will open their tournament against Greece and Ukraine will meet Denmark.

The first Pool Y match will see Paralympic champions Japan take on Algeria. Hosts South Korea will then meet Canada, Australia will face Great Britain and Paralympic bronze medallists Sweden will go head-to-head with Germany.

Full schedule can be found here.

The medal matches will be played on Sunday 17 May.