IPC starts top 25 moments countdown

Between 29 August and 22 September, the IPC will countdown the top 25 moments from the last quarter of a century to celevrate its silver jubilee. 29 Aug 2014
Agitos at  Laura Cross-Country Ski and Biathlon Centre

The Paralympic Agitos sit on display at the Laura Cross-Country Ski and Biathlon Centre at the Sochi 2014 Paralympic Winter Games.

ⒸGetty Images

“Many of the moments nominated are from people simply attending the Games. Others are of key moments that have helped shape the Paralympic Movement over the last two and a half decades."

Ahead of its silver jubilee on 22 September 2014, the International Paralympic Committee (IPC) started a daily countdown on Friday (29 August) via www.ipc25.com of the best 25 moments from the Paralympic Movement from the last quarter of a century.


Each day the IPC will reveal a different moment, with the number one moment chosen by the IPC Governing Board being revealed on 22 September, the day of the IPC’s 25th anniversary.


On Friday, number 25 in the countdown was revealed as the 2007 Parapan American Games. Held in Rio, Brazil, they were the first to take place in the same city as the Pan American Games following the Olympic/Paralympic model, created a blue print for future regional Games and helped create huge awareness of the Paralympic Movement in the Americas.


Click here to see the top 25 countdown.


Back in May, the IPC launched a global search for peoples’ favourite moments from the last 25 years. Everyone who submitted a favourite moment was entered into a free prize draw to win a once in a lifetime five day trip for two to the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games.


More than 500 people from all five continents nominated moments and the best of them will be uploaded onto an interactive global map at www.ipc25.com that will go live on Monday (1 September).


Craig Spence, the IPC’s Director of Media and Communications, said: “We’re overwhelmed with the response we have received from people around the world for our top 25 moments campaign to celebrate our 25th anniversary.


“Many of the moments nominated are from people simply attending the Games. Others are of key moments that have helped shape the Paralympic Movement over the last two and a half decades.


“The IPC Governing Board had a very difficult task in choosing their favourite moments. The top three moments were especially close and I am sure the public will really enjoy the countdown as it showcases how much the Paralympic Movement has progressed over the last 25 years.”

The IPC was formed on 22 September 1989 at a meeting in Dusseldorf, Germany. More than 200 participants from 42 countries attended the historic event which created the Paralympic Movement’s global governing body.

Founding members of the IPC were CISS, CPISRA, IBSA, INAS-FMH, ISMGF and ISOD and the organisation’s first President was Bob Steadward who remained in the position until 2001. Great Britain’s Sir Philip Craven was then elected his successor.

Although formed in 1989, the Lillehammer 1994 Paralympic Winter Games were the first Paralympics that the IPC was fully responsible for.

Today, the IPC is based in Bonn, Germany, employs 75 people full-time and has over 200 members. Its vision is ‘To enable Paralympic athletes to achieve sporting excellence and inspire and excite the world.’

In addition to supervising the organisation of the Summer and Winter Paralympic Games, the IPC also serves as the International Federation for nine sports, for which it supervises and co-ordinates the World Championships and other competitions.