Italian ski team announced for home Worlds

Giacomo Bertagnolli and Melania Corradini headline the team of seven athletes who will compete at Tarvisio 2017. 22 Jan 2017
Melania Corradini

Melania Corradini. (ITA)

A team of seven skiers have been named to the Italian team who will take to their home slopes of Tarvisio between 22-31 January for the 2017 World Para Alpine Skiing Championships.

The names of the athletes were announced on Sunday (22 January), the day of the Opening Ceremony of the Championships which will feature 113 athletes from 30 countries. It is the last major competition ahead of the PyeongChang 2018 Paralympic Winter Games.

The host nation’s squad is headlined by Vancouver 2010 Paralympic Winter Games super-G champion Melania Corradini in the women’s standing, as well as 18-year-old World Cup winner Giacomo Bertagnolli in the men’s visually impaired, guided by Fabrizio Casal.

The Opening Ceremony featured a march of the athletes and teams through Tarvisio, led by the Julia Alpine Brigade. They were cheered by local people who had lined the streets, before gathering in the town square to hear speeches from dignitaries including International Paralympic President, Sir Philip Craven, President of the Italian National Paralympic Committee, Luca Pancalli, and President of the Friuli Venezia Giulia region, Deborah Serracchiani.

The United World College of Duino’s Adriatic Choir sang Nessun Dorma before the official jingle of the Championships was unveiled to the gathered athletes, teams, spectators and VIPs.

A spectacular laser show concluded proceedings before everyone departed to prepare themselves for the first day of downhill training on Monday (23 January).

Athletes will get their first chance to contest medals with the downhill on Wednesday (25 March). Super-G, super combined, giant slalom and slalom then follow between 26-31 January.

Entry to all competitions are free to spectators and a livestream, live results and a full competition schedule is available at

Italian team


Giacomo Bertagnolli – super-G, downhill, super combined, slalom and giant slalom visually impaired

David Bendotti – super-G and giant slalom standing

Andrea Valenti – giant slalom sitting standing

Reve De Silvestro – giant slalom sitting

Danilo Rossi – super-G and giant slalom sitting

Alessandro Varotto – super-G and giant slalom sitting


Melania Corradini – super-G and super combined standing