Paralympic Winter Games
9-18 March

PyeongChang 2018: Athlete Council elections underway

Three winter sport representatives will be elected during the Games 06 Mar 2018
the Agitos symbol covered in snow at the PyeongChang 2018 Paralympic Village

The Agitos at the PyeongChang 2018 Paralympic Village

ⒸThomas Lovelock for OIS/IOC

Elections for the three winter sport representatives on the International Paralympic Committee (IPC) Athletes’ Council get underway today (6 March) and run until 16 March at the Proud Paralympian space of the Athletes’ Dining Hall at the Paralympic Village in PyeongChang, South Korea, during the Winter Games.

The seven candidates are alpine skiers Zsolt Balogh of Hungary, Marie Bochet of France and Claudia Loesch of Austria, and Nordic skiers Rudolf Klemetti of Finland, Yuanyuan Peng of China, Birgir Skarstein of Norway and Witold Skupien of Poland.

All “Aa” accredited athletes are entitled to vote and they must do it for three candidates. The IPC Electoral Commission is composed of IPC Legal and Ethics Committee Chairperson Linda Mastandrea and IPC Legal and Ethics Committee Member Mark Copeland.

The IPC Athletes’ Council is the collective voice of Paralympic athletes within the IPC and the greater Paralympic Movement. As the liaison between IPC decision-makers and Paralympic athletes, the IPC Athletes’ Council works to provide effective input into decision-making at all levels of the organisation.

To this end, the IPC Athletes’ Council works to ensure effective athlete representation on all IPC committees and commissions as well as to create other opportunities for athlete representation both within and outside the IPC.

More information is available on the IPC website.