Riders complete 100 per cent record at Big White

The Netherlands’ Bibian Mentel-Spee, France’s Cecile Hernandez-Cervellon, the USA's Mike Shea and Great Britain's Ben Moore won their second snowboard-cross head-to-head races. 19 Jan 2015
Two snowboarders race on a slope

US para-snowboarder Mike Shea won the men's SB-LL2 head-to-head event at the World Cup event in Aspen, USA.

ⒸJoe Kusumoto

Four para-snowboarders maintained their 100 per cent record in the new format of snowboard-cross head-to-head at the IPC Alpine Skiing Para-Snowboard World Cup in Big White, Canada, on Saturday (17 January).

The Netherlands’ Bibian Mentel-Spee collected her win in the women’s SB-LL2, after she triumphed in the debut of the new format in Aspen, USA, on Monday (12 January).

US rider Heidi Jo Duce finished second in her race with the Paralympic champion, whilst Mentel-Spee’s teammate and protege Lisa Bunschoten was third.

France’s Cecile Hernandez-Cervellon was victorious in the women’s SB-LL1, continuing her sweep of the podium. USA teammates Nicole Roundy and Megan Harmon were second and third respectively, with Harmon taking the final spot from Canada’s third-fastest qualifier Michelle Salt.

The men’s SB-LL2 saw yet another podium for Team USA, with Mike Shea taking the win from fastest qualifier, Fin Matti Suur-Hamari.

New Zealand’s Carl Murphy made it into the World Cup top three for the first time this season in third.

Great Britain’s Ben Moore won his second snowboard-cross head-to-head of 2014-15 in the men’s upper-limb impairment race. Moore beat Austria’s Patrick Mayrhofer and Italy’s Roberto Cavicchi.

In the men's SB-LL1, the Netherlands' Chris Vos beat Italy's Giuseppe Communale.

Races continue in Big White on Monday (19 January), with banked slalom races ahead of the 2015 IPC Para-Snowboard World Championships in La Molina, Spain, from 23-28 February.

Media accreditation for La Molina 2015 is available at the event website.

Athletes have so far competed in World Cups in the newly added discipline of banked slalom in Landgraaf, the Netherlands, and the new format of snowboard-cross head-to-head and time-trial in Aspen.