Serio and Meyers receive 2017 ESPYs Awards

US Paralympic champions’ achievements recognised. 14 Jul 2017
two para athletes celebrate their wins

ESPY winners Rebecca Meyers and Steve Serio are both Rio 2016 champions

ⒸGetty Images

The USA’s wheelchair basketball player Steve Serio and swimmer Rebecca Meyers have won ESPN’s 2017 ESPYs Awards for ‘Best Male Athlete with a Disability’ and ‘Best Female Athlete with a Disability’.

Serio was fundamental to the USA’s team success at Rio 2016, where they won Paralympic gold for the first time in 28 years. It was Serio’s first nomination and the first time a wheelchair basketball player has been given the award.

Serio was shortlisted alongside cyclist Will Groulx, snowboarder Mike Minor, swimmer Bard Snyder and track athlete Roderick Townsend.

Three-time Paralympic champion Meyers was the recipient of the female award for the second time, after winning it in 2015. At Rio 2016, the 22-year-old won gold in the women’s 100m butterfly S13, 400m freestyle S13 and 200m individual medley SM13.

She followed that up with silver in the 100m freestyle S13.

Nordic skier Oksana Masters, track athlete Tatyana McFadden, cyclist Shawn Morelli and triathlete Grace Norman were also nominated.

Full list of winners can be found on ESPN’s website.