Thai duo win trio of Para badminton medals

Siripong Teamarrom and Sujirat Pookkham highlight Turkish Cup 16 May 2018
Woman badminton player in wheelchair hits a birdie

Thailand's Sujirat Pookkham won a trio of medals at the Turkish Para Badminton International

ⒸAlan Spinks

Thailand’s Siripong Teamarrom and Sujirat Pookkham, and Japan’s Yuma Yamazaki emerged the most successful contestants at the fourth Turkish Para Badminton International – ENESCUP 2018 that concluded in Konya on 13 May.

The trio each won two gold medals and a bronze.

Teamarrom combined with Japan’s Daisuke Fujihara in the men’s doubles SL 3 – SL 4 final to beat France’s Guillaume Gailly/Mathieu Thomas in a close match, 21-11 16-21 22-20.

Teamarrom returned later in the day with compatriot Nipada Seangsupa for the mixed doubles SL 3 – SL 4; the Thai duo overcame Japan’s Toshiaki Suenaga/Akiko Sugino 21-12 21-18. Teamarrom also won a bronze in the men’s singles SL 4, giving him a three-medal haul.

Pookkham won her four group matches in women’s singles WH 1 to emerge on top of the group, just ahead of Switzerland’s Karin Suter-Erath. Pookkham’s closest match in the group was against Japan’s Etsuko Kobayashi, which she won 28-26 18-21 21-10.

Pookkham won her second gold as she combined with Amnouy Wetwithan for the women’s doubles WH 1 – WH 2; the Thai duo completed their group assignments with four wins in four matches to take the gold. In their final group match yesterday, they beat Russia’s Irina Kuzmenko*/ Turkey’s Narine Uluc 21-15 21-12.

Pookkham’s bronze came in mixed doubles WH 1 – WH 2 with Junthong Dumnern.

Yamazaki clinched the women’s singles WH 2 gold beating Amnouy Wetwithan 21-13 21-13.

Yamazaki also won the mixed doubles WH 1 – WH 2, with compatriot Osamu Nagashima. The Japanese got the better of Thailand’s Jakarin Homhaul/Amnouy Wetwithan 21-9 21-16.

Japan had the largest haul among all the participating countries with six gold medals. Japan’s winners included Osamu Nagashima (wen’s singles WH 1); Daisuke Fujihara (with Teamarrom in men’s doubles SL 3 – SL 4); Ayako Suzuki (women’s singles SU 5) and Kaede Katayama (with Thailand’s Wannaphatdee Kamtam in women’s doubles SL 3 – SL 4).

Other successful players included Malaysia’s Cheah Liek Hou with two gold, France’s David Toupe and Japan’s Daisuke Fujihara (a gold, silver and bronze each) and Thailand’s Wetwithan (one gold, two silver).

Complete results can be found on Badminton World Federation’s (BWF) website.

*Editor's note: The International Paralympic Committee suspended the Russian Paralympic Committee on 7 August 2016 for its inability to fulfil its IPC membership responsibilities and obligations, in particular its obligation to comply with the IPC Anti-Doping Code and the World Anti-Doping Code (to which it is also a signatory). As a result of the suspension, Russian athletes cannot enter IPC sanctioned events or competitions, including the Paralympic Games.

For further information please click here.