2014 US Paralympics Swimming national team named

US Paralympics, a division of the United States Olympic Committee, has announced that 12 athletes, including six reigning world champions, have been named to the 2014 U.S. Paralympics Swimming National A Team. 09 Jan 2014
Cortney Jordan

USA's Courtney Jordan carried her nation's flag in the Opening Ceremony of the 2013 IPC Swimming World Championships in Montreal, Canada.

ⒸGetty Images

“As we continue to build the strength of the national team with our sights set on Rio, we are very excited to have so many decorated veterans who are perennial medal winners"

Nine athletes were named to the national B team, with an additional 15 athletes named to the emerging and military teams.

“As we continue to build the strength of the national team with our sights set on Rio, we are very excited to have so many decorated veterans who are perennial medal winners, as well as a great group of up-and-coming swimmers on our 2014 roster,” said Queenie Nichols, high performance director for US Paralympics swimming. “We already started our new year with a very successful team camp at the Colorado Springs Olympic Training Centre, and I can’t wait to see what this group of talented athletes will be able to do over the next 12 months.”

Team USA had a strong showing at the 2013 International Paralympic Committee (IPC) Swimming World Championships in August. The US swimmers took fourth place in the medal tally with a total of 33 medals (11 gold, 13 silver, nine bronze).

2014 national A team athletes who won world titles in 2013 include: Cortney Jordan, Jessica Long, Rebecca Meyers, Tucker Dupree, Roy Perkins, Ian Silverman and Justin Zook.

Nine swimmers return to the national A team for a second consecutive year. Newcomers to this year’s team include Leticia Martinez, Elizabeth Smith and Colleen Young.

All together, the national A team boasts 46 Paralympic medals. Long is the most decorated female athlete with 17 Paralympic Games medals, while Perkins takes the honour on the men’s side with six trips to the medal stand.

Team USA begins the 2014 season 27-29 March in Miami at the US Paralympics Spring Swimming Nationals and Spring CanAm.

Additional athletes may be added to the team rosters throughout the season.

Rosters for the 2014 US Paralympics Swimming National Teams

2014 National A Team


Name, Class

Cortney Jordan, S7/SB7/SM7

Jessica Long, S8/SB7/SM8

Letticia Martinez, S11/SB11/SM11

Rebecca Meyers, S13/SB13/SM13

Noga Nir-Kistler, S6/SB5/SM6

Elizabeth Smith, S9/SB9/SM9

Colleen Young, S13/SB13/SM13


Tucker Dupree, S12/SB12/SM12

Curtis Lovejoy, S2/SB1/SM2

Roy Perkins, S5/SB4/SM5

Ian Silverman, S10/SB9/SM10

Justin Zook, S10/SB9/SM10

2014 National B Team


Cailin Currie, S13/SB13/SM13

Anna Eames, S10/SB9/SM10

Alyssa Gialamas, S5/SB4/SM5

Anna Johannes , S9/SB8/SM9

Martha Ruether, S13/SB13/SM13

Susan Beth Scott, S10/SB9/SM10


Cody Bureau, S9/SB9/SM9

Tharon Drake, S11/SB11/SM11

Ryan Duemler, S8/SB7/SM8

2014 Emerging Team


Hannah Aspden, S9/SB8/SM9

Reilly Boyt, S6/SB6/SM6

Brickelle Bro, S8/SB7/SM8

Leslie Cichocki, S14/SB14/SM14

McKenzie Coan , S8/SB7/SM8

Lindsay Grogan, S9/SB9/SM9

April Kerley, S9/SB9/SM9

Natalie Sims, S9/SB9/SM9

Mallory Weggemann, S8/SB7/SM8

Kayla Wheeler, S2/SB1/SM2


Michael DeMarco, S3/SB2/SM3

Robert Griswold, S9/SB8/SM9

Lucas McCrory, S7/SB7/SM7

Tom Miazga, S8/SB7/SM8

Michael Prout, S9/SB9/SM9

2014 Military Team


Elizabeth Wasil S10/SB9/SM10