Canada name Nordic skiing team for 2017-18

Eleven athletes will wear the maple leaf on the World Para Nordic Skiing World Cup circuit. 11 May 2017
Canadian Mark Arendz stepped onto the podium twice in biathlon events at Sochi 2014.

Canada's Mark Arendz won a silver and bronze medal in biathlon at Sochi 2014.

By Cross-Country Ski de fond Canada and IPC

Cross Country Ski de fond Canada has presented the talented athletes that will represent Team Canada in the 2017-18 Para Nordic skiing season.

Headlining the group of 11 are familiar names such as 10-time Paralympic champion Brian McKeever and guide Graham Nishikawa. McKeever excelled at the 2017 World Para Nordic Skiing Championships in Finsterau, Germany, winning two titles in the men’s cross-country visually impaired.

Men’s standing skier Mark Arendz reclaimed his short distance biathlon gold from 2013 in Finsterau and also added the middle distance to his collection.

Brittany Hudak, 23, finished in the top 10 of both the women’s cross-country and biathlon standing World Cup rankings.

Emily Young, also a standing skier, reached the same feat and landed on the podium in the cross-country sprint at the PyeongChang 2018 Paralympic Winter Games Test Event.

National team

Mark Arendz, World Cup team

Collin Cameron, World Cup team

Brittany Hudak, World Cup team

Chris Klebl, World Cup team

Brian McKeever, World Cup team

Graham Nishikawa (guide), World Cup team

Emily Young, World Cup team

Sébastien Fortier, development & prospects team

Derek Zaplotinsky, development & prospects team

Ethan Hess, prospects team

Natalie Wilkie, prospects team