Candidates for IPC Athletes' Council

Today, the International Paralympic Committee officially announced the eligible candidates for the 2008 IPC Athletes’ Council (AC) Election. 14 Jul 2008 By IPC

Athanasios Barakas, Athletics, Greece

David Smetanine, Swimming, France

Heinz Frei, Athletics, Switzerland

Im-Yeon Kim, Shooting, Korea

Joost de Hoogh, Swimming, The Netherlands

Lars Löfström, Sailing, Sweden

Ljiljana (Lilo) Ljubisic, Athletics, Canada

Maha Bargouthi, Table Tennis, Jordan

Marketa Sidkova, Archery, Czech Republic

Michael Teuber, Cycling, Germany

Moises Fuentes Garcia, Swimming, Colombia

Robert (Bob) Balk, Athletics, USA

Teresa Perales, Swimming, Spain

Yu Chui Yee, Wheelchair Fencing, Hong Kong

The elections will take place from 4 to 15 September at the Voting Centre in the Beijing Paralympic Village as well as from 5 to 8 September at the Hong Kong and Qingdao Paralympic Villages.

The IPC Athletes’ Council is the collective voice of Paralympic athletes within the IPC and the greater Paralympic Movement. As the liaison between IPC decision-makers and Paralympic athletes, the IPC Athletes’ Council works to provide effective input into decision-making at all levels of the organization. To this end, the IPC Athletes’ Council works to ensure effective athlete representation on all IPC committees and commissions as well as to create other opportunities for athlete representation both within and outside the IPC.

The Council is composed of nine Paralympic athlete representatives elected for a four-year term. Six athlete representatives are elected from summer sports and three from winter sports at the Paralympic Games. Athlete candidates are nominated by their respective National Paralympic Committee (NPC) and must have competed at a Paralympic Games within the previous eight years.

For more information about the IPC Athletes’ Council Election in Beijing, please contact Verena Müller (