Davis appointed to Coordination Commission for Milano Cortina 2026

The three-time Paralympian forms part of a 10-strong group 18 Nov 2019
Muffy Davis
IN A NEW ROLE: Muffy Davis
ⒸGetty Images

Milan, Italy: Three-time Paralympian and International Paralympic Committee (IPC) Governing Board member Muffy Davis has been appointed to the International Olympic Committee (IOC) Co-ordination Commission for the Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games Milano Cortina 2026.

Elected to the IPC Governing Board in 2017, Davis is a multi-sport Paralympian and three-time Paralympic champion.  She represented USA at the Nagano 1998 and Salt Lake City Paralympic Winter Games taking home three silvers and one bronze medal in alpine skiing.   At London 2012 she won three gold medals in handcycling.

Speaking about the task at hand, Davis said: “I'm incredibly honoured to be named to the 2026 Milano Cortina Co-ordination Commission and look forward to working with all stakeholders to assure the 2026 Olympic and Paralympic Games are immensely successful on all fronts!”

Ten members form the Co-ordination Commission for Milano Cortina 2026.  Olympian and IOC Member Sari Essayah, from Finland, will chair the Commission, leading a gender-balanced group composed of other IOC Members who are not on the IOC Executive Board, as well as representatives of the athletes, International Federations, National Olympic Committees and the IPC.

IOC President Thomas Bach said: “Milano Cortina’s project is completely aligned with Olympic Agenda 2020 and its vision for cost-effective Games that take advantage of existing facilities and expertise. This Coordination Commission, under the leadership of Sari Essayah, holds the necessary combination of knowledge and skills to partner with the local organisers in unlocking the full potential of this project. They will work hand in hand for an unforgettable experience for athletes and fans, and an indelible positive legacy for the hosts.”

The first visit by the Coordination Commission to Northern Italy is scheduled for the second half of 2020. Meanwhile, the IOC will hold a kick-off meeting with the Milano Cortina 2026 organisers on 10 and 11 December this year. This will prepare the ground for the close collaboration between the IOC and the Organising Committee over the next seven years.

The composition of the IOC Coordination Commission 2026 is as follows:

Sari Essayah (FIN)

International Olympic Committee
Richard L. Carrion (PUR)
Tricia Smith (CAN)
Jiri Kejval (CZE)
Daina Gudzineviciute (LTU)
Kee Heung Lee (KOR)

IOC Athletes’ Commission
Kikkan Randall (USA)

International Federations
Jan Dijkema (NED) – ISU                

National Olympic Committees  
Alejandro Blanco (ESP)

Marianna Davis (USA)