ICSSPE Executive Committee Elections

01 Dec 2008 By IPC

The International Council of Sport Science and Physical Education (ICSSPE) officially elected new Executive Board members to represent the ICSSPE Associations’ Board last month. Herbert Haag received the most votes to become the Speaker of the Associations’ Board, and candidates Dieter Hackfort, Thierry Terret and Peter Van de Vliet were all elected as representatives at the ICSSPE Associations’ Board. With these elected board members, the full membership of the ICSSPE Executive Committee is known. The term of office for the newly elected board members will be from 1 January 2009 until 31 December 2010.

As part of his responsibilities, Dr. Peter Van de Vliet, also the Medical & Scientific Director for the International Paralympic Committee (IPC), will keep Paralympic Sport-related issues high on the ICSSPE agenda. Van de Vliet will be serving on the Executive Committee, while maintaining his position at the IPC.

The ICSSPE aims to contribute to the awareness of human values inherent in sport and physical activity, to improve health and physical well-being, and to develop physical activity, physical education and sport in all countries to a high level.

For more information about ICSSPE, please visit www.icsspe.org.