International Women’s Day award: Nominate now!

IPC to celebrate women leaders in the Movement 07 Feb 2019
two women smiling for the camera

The International Paralympic Committee (IPC) is calling on its members to nominate a person or organisation who they believe is a positive role model for women in the Movement for its 2019 International Women’s Day Recognition.

The recognition was created by the IPC Women in Sport Committee to celebrate the success of women in the Paralympic Movement. The deadline for nominations is 25 February, and the winner will be announced on International Women’s Day on 8 March.

The shortlisting and selection process will be led by the Women in Sport Committee, chaired by Rita van Driel:

“It is important to highlight leaders who have impacted the Paralympic Movement and can serve as role models for other women and girls in Para sports.

“The Movement is filled with inspiring figures who have pushed for gender equality, have gone above and beyond expectations from their job descriptions, and have challenged the boundaries set by society.

“I ask our members to send forth their nominations, celebrate the work of such leaders and work together to create more opportunities for women in Para sports.”

The award honours primarily women leaders who have and continue to inspire and emulate the Paralympic ideals.

The 2018 International Women’s Day Recognition was given to Dr. Hayat Khattab.

Dr. Khattab, President of the National Paralympic Committee (NPC) of Egypt, received the award following a record number of nominations. She became the first female President of the Egyptian Paralympic Committee in 2015. With the position and led efforts to form the first women’s sitting volleyball team that went on to claim silver at the African Championships in Rwanda.

Dr. Cheri Blauwet received the award in 2017. A seven-time Paralympic medallist in wheelchair racing, Dr. Blauwet retired from her athletic career in 2008 and extended her legacy far beyond the field of play. She maintained an active sports medicine practice at Spaulding Rehabilitation Hospital and the Brigham and Women’s Hospital in Boston, USA, and has served as an assistant professor in physical medicine and rehabilitation at Harvard Medical School.

Other former recipients include Canada’s Carla Qualtrough (2016), Canada’s Chantal Petitclerc (2015), Russia’s Rima Batalova (2014) and Spain’s Sylvana Mestre (2013).

The nomination form has been sent to all IPC members. For more information please contact

Thousands of events occur every year throughout March to mark the economic, political and social achievements of women for International Women’s Day. Organisations, governments, charities, educational institutions, women's groups, corporations and the media celebrate the day.