Lithuania to host International Goalball Tournament

10 men´s teams will face-off in Vilnius, Lithuania, from 14-17 July, as they enter the final stage of preparations for Rio 2016. 13 Jul 2016
Blindfolded man on a field of play throwing a ball

The 2015 IBSA Goalball European Championships Men and Women A were held in Kaunas, Lithuania

By Rosanna Haroutounian | For the IPC

The USA, Canada, Lithuania 1, Germany, Turkey, Finland, Lithuania 2, Sweden, Belgium and Ukraine will compete at the International Men´s Goalball Tournament between 14-17 July in Vilnius, Lithuania.

The 10 teams were divided into two groups of five, with the best two of each group qualifying for the semi-finals. Canada will clash with the USA, Germany, Lithuania 1 and Belgium in Group A, whilst Finland have been paired in Group B with Lithuania 2, Turkey, Ukraine and Sweden.

The event, hosted by the Lithuanian Blind Sports Federation, will serve for the teams as preparation for Rio 2016.

The Paralympic goalball competition will take place in the Future Arena between 8 and 16 September.

In Rio, reigning Paralympic champions Finland were drawn in Group B with Lithuania, European champions Turkey, USA and Asian champions China.

World champions Brazil will be joined in Group A by African champions Algeria, Canada, Germany and Sweden in Group A.

Schedule and results can be found on the Lithuanian Blind Sport Federation’s website.


Sport fans from around the world can now buy their Paralympic tickets for Rio 2016 from authorised ticket resellers (ATRs)

The IPC’s Global ATR is Jet Set Sports, and Rio 2016 tickets and packages can be purchased on the CoSport website.

Residents of Brazil can buy 2016 Paralympics tickets directly from the Rio 2016 website.

Visa International is the exclusive payment card and the official payment system for the Paralympic Games.