Paralympians recognised in Australia Day honours

A total of 18 Para athletes received the Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM), whilst guide Michellie Jones was given the Member of the Order of Australia (AM). 28 Jan 2017
Two women in jerseys smiling and raising her arms

Australian triathlete Katie Kelly is competing in the women’s PT5 class.

By Australian Paralympic Committee

A total of 18 Paralympians who won their first gold at Rio 2016 received the Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) from Governor General of Australia Sir Peter Cosgrove on Australia Day, on 26 January.

Michellie Jones, who acted as guide to visually impaired Paralympic triathlon champion Katie Kelly, received the Member of the Order of Australia (AM).

Australian Paralympic Committee Chief Executive Lynne Anderson said the gold medal performances from the Paralympians provided moments of national significance and deserved to be recognised accordingly.

“Australia’s Paralympians embody what it means to be Australian and for those who achieved the ultimate accolade, a Paralympic gold medal, it confirms their place as the very best in the world in a chosen pursuit,” said Anderson.

“I would like to congratulate each of the 19 Paralympic athletes who have today been named on the Australia Day honours list.

“Each athlete recognised today have not only reached their pinnacle of their sport, but displayed the core values of the Paralympic movement during the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games and did their country proud.

“It is fantastic to see their gold medal wins being celebrated once again as we now look forward to seeing what our athletes can continue to achieve in the coming months and years.”

The 2016 Australian Paralympic Team also comprised of 16 gold medallists who are already OAM recipients.

List of 2016 Australian Team members honoured

Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM): Russell Boaden (sailing); Brayden Davidson (athletics); Heath Davidson (wheelchair tennis); Tim Disken (swimming); Andrew Edmondson (wheelchair rugby); Ben Fawcett (wheelchair rugby); Jonathan Harris (sailing); Colin Harrison (sailing); Katie Kelly (triathlon); Matt Lewis (wheelchair rugby); Ashleigh McConnell (swimming); Curtis McGrath (canoe); Lakeisha Patterson (swimming); Scott Reardon (athletics); Tiffany Thomas-Kane (swimming); James Turner (athletics); Jayden Warn (wheelchair rugby); Rachael Watson (swimming).

Member of the Order of Australia (AM): Michellie Jones (guide in triathlon)

Full story is available online on the Australian Paralympic Committee’s website.