Rwanda Honours Journalists for Paralympic Coverage

The National Paralympic Committee (NPC) of Rwanda has officially honoured major media contributors to the Paralympic Movement for the year 2009. 20 Jan 2010 By IPC

At an award ceremony in the country, journalists in television, radio and newspaper were each recognized for their achievements. The individuals receiving the awards were Jean Butoy for Television, Henry Muhire for Radio, and Ostine Arinaitwe for Newspaper. A special prize was given to the Office Rwandaise d’Information (Orinfor) for their partnership and support of NPC Rwanda.

The presentation of achievements was given by the Secretary General of NPC Rwanda Celestin Nzeyimana, with President of NPC Rwanda Dominique Bizimana acknowledging each person for their work and advocacy concerning the integration of people with a disability in the country. The event was the organization’s second ceremony held to honour journalists for their work on people with a disability.

The event also included a viewing of a Paralympic Sport highlights video from the International Paralympic Committee (IPC), which gave the audience an overview of the Paralympic Movement and illustrated the achievements of athletes with a disability.

The intension of the awards ceremony was to express gratitude to journalists working in television, radio and newspaper. The Committee said that they continue to play a crucial role in helping and supporting the work of NPC Rwanda through their broadcasts and publications.

The Laureus Sport for Good Foundation sponsored the 2009 awards.

For more information about the National Paralympic Committee of Rwanda, please visit