Skiers grab Europa Cup titles in Veysonnaz

Slalom, giant slalom and super combined helped skiers win coveted trophies in Switzerland. 31 Mar 2017
Ruth Hagspiel - alpine skiing

Ruth Hagspiel


Croatia’s Eva Goluza left Veysonnaz, Switzerland, as the victor of the women’s visually impaired Para alpine skiing Europa Cup in her debut season following two race wins between 29-31 March.

Guided by Ana Zigman, Goluza skied to the top of the podium in both the giant slalom on Thursday (30 March) and slalom on Friday (31 March).

Belgium’s Marie-Morgane Dessart was second in both races with guide Marine Antoine.

Goluza’s exceptional form placed her top of the rankings with 625 points, followed by Dessart’s teammate Eleonor Sana and Germany’s Noemi Ewa Ristau.

In the men’s visually impaired Austria’s Gernot Morgenfurt, with guide Christoph Gmeiner, took three wins as the super combined was also contested on Wednesday (29 March).

In the slalom and giant slalom, he finished ahead of Great Britain’s Michael Kear, guided by Jimmy Nutt. Italy’s Nicolas Marzolino was third in the slalom.

Poland’s Maciej Krezel ends the season as the winner of the men’s visually impaired Europa Cup in front of Morgenfurt in second. Spain’s Jon Santacana Maiztegui was third.

In the women’s standing Germany’s Anna-Maria Rieder did everything she could to steal the Europa Cup title.

But her two wins in the slalom and giant slalom were not enough to halt Spain’s Ursula Pueyo Marimon. The Spaniard finished third in the giant slalom to make her points lead unassailable.

Italy’s Melania Corradini was second in both races. Austria’s Eva-Maria Joechl was third in the slalom.

Pueyo Marimon led Switzerland’s Bigna Schmidt and Rieder into the Europa Cup top three.

A triple podium finish for Finland’s Santeri Kiiveri saw him claim the men’s title for the season.

He saw off challenges from Austria’s Thomas Grochar, the winner of the super combined and slalom. Great Britain’s James Whitley also managed top three finishes in all races, including the win in the giant slalom.

Kiverii was third in all disciplines to take the title with 843 points. Austria’s Martin Wuerz followed him in second ahead of Grochar.

Germany’s Ruth Hagspiel was the winner of the women’s sitting crown with two second place finishes from the slalom and giant slalom.

Austrian Heike Tuertscher’s two leading runs saw her seal victory in the giant slalom race. The Netherlands’ Barbara van Bergen was third.

Van Bergen went better in the slalom, taking the win ahead of Hagspiel and Tuertscher.

Tuertscher and van Bergen were second and third respectively in the Europa Cup final rankings.

With his win in the men’s slalom sitting, France’s Frederic Francois etched his name onto the Europa Cup.

He also raced to second in the super combined, behind teammate Yohann Taberlet. Argentina’s Enrique Plantey was third.

Switzerland’s Christoph Kunz was second in the slalom and Taberlet third.

Kunz secured his own victory in the giant slalom in front of compatriot Murat Pelit. Taberlet completed a podium triple in third.

Taberlet was second in the points rankings, creating a French top two. Germany’s Bjoern Benke was third.

The Europa Cup Finals conclude the international race calendar for the 2016-17 Para alpine skiing season.

Full results and rankings can found at World Para Alpine Skiing’s website.