Wheelchair basketball zone championships announced

Japan, Algeria to host respective zonal championships; U25 World Championships also revealed 23 May 2015
Athlete practicing wheelchair basketball.
ⒸWagner Meier for the IPC
By International Wheelchair Basketball Federation

The International Wheelchair Basketball Federation (IWBF) have announced the dates and cities that will host Championships in 2015, events that will act as qualifiers for the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games.

IWBF America: Toronto 2015 Parapan American Games – Toronto, Canada (7-15 August)

The Toronto 2015 Parapan American Games will be used as the qualifier for the Americas region.

Eight men’s teams and eight women’s team will play for the right to advance to Rio 2016. In the men’s division, there will be only two spots available, while the women will play for three spots. In addition, Brazil as the host country will be given a spot for both men and women.

IWBF Europe: Wheelchair Basketball European Championships – Worcester, Great Britain (28 August – 6 September)

The continent's leading wheelchair basketball nations will battle for spots in Brazil. Just five men's teams of the 12 competing and four women's teams of the seven competing will qualify.

The tournament will take place at the University of Worcester.

For more information, please visit the competition website.

IWBF Asia-Oceania: Asia/Oceania Zonal Championships – Chiba, Japan (7-18 October)

The Championships will take place at the Chiba Port Arena. There will be 12 men’s teams competing for three spots and three women’s teams competing for one spot at Rio 2016.

More information will be available at a later time.

IWBF Africa: Africa Zonal Championships – Algiers, Algeria (30 October – 8 November)

There will be a women’s competition with four countries playing for the spot in Rio 2016 for the first time. Eight men’s teams will be playing, with the champion winning the ticket to the Games.

U25 World Championships

The IWBF also announced that the Under-25 Women’s Wheelchair World Championships will be held 30 June – 6 July in Beijing, China.

Six nations will play for the title. With the USA not competing, 2011 silver medalists Australia will be aiming to improve their standing to gold. Also returning are 2011 bronze medallists Great Britain, Canada, Japan and Germany. Host country China will play in the U25 World Championships for the first time.

The Championship will be hosted by the Chinese Administration of Sport for Persons with Disabilities (CASPD) and the Chinese Paralympic Committee. Visit the IWBF’s website for more information on the wheelchair basketball Championships and U25 Women’s Wheelchair World Championships